Going to Riviera Maya Mexico in 2 weeks, any suggestions?

HakkaDog

Hey everyone, it's been a long time I posted on CCF.  I'm going to Riviera Maya in 2 weeks at the Luxury Bahia Principe resort. This is my first time going anywhere aside from Cuba. Just wanted some suggestions from anyone who has visited the same region on getting cigars? authenticity issues? Duty Free cigars? Any suggestions in general regarding travelling outside the resort. Much appreciated again for your assistance. 

I have been in that area a couple of times and was never able to find authentic Cuban cigars.  Now for fake Cubans, they were everywhere!  I would stay away from the "Lauro" brand in Playa del Carmen.  They are expensive for a very cheep brand!  The Te-amo, A.Turrent and Del Paraiso cigars are not bad.  I am not a big fan of Mexican cigars.  Good luck!

I stayed @ Grand Sirenis there a few years ago, and I would recommend bringing your own with you as @Rone stated. Very tough to find authentic cigars on 5th ave in Playa. If you do, they are ridiculously expensive and when I was there, they wouldn't budge on the price. I was pretty new to the cigar scene and ended up buying a box of 25 assorted Cubans which looked good to me in the store, but upon further inspection when I got home, were fakes. All of these assorted "Cubans" in the box, tasted the same, looked the same, but had different bands on them. My bad. 

bring your own cigars.  just got back last week.  do the day trip to isla mujeres.  great time golf carting around the island.  get your booze at the airport.  they had all the good tequilas and rums.  zacapa XO,  don julio 1942, cuervo family reserva.  good selection of top shelf spirits.

did I mention bring your own cigars......lol.  mexico has a 25 cigar P/P import limit.  just a heads up